Bond Hall of Architecture
This home of the School of Architecture was constructed in 1917 and is one of only two stone buildings on campus (the other is the Hesburgh Library). Traditional and classical architecture occupy a premier place in the School of Architecture. The first Catholic university in America to offer a degree in the field, beginning in 1898, Notre Dame now boasts nationally acclaimed undergraduate and post-graduate programs. Besides its library, auditorium, computer lab, and studio space, the hall’s main staircase serves as the platform for the Notre Dame Marching Band’s famed game-day concerts.
Bond Hall was built first to house the campus library and art gallery. It was closed in 1995 for an 18-month renovation and expansion project.
Learn more about the School of Architecture