Built as an honors residence hall in 1925, Lyons Hall is named after Joseph Lyons, an alumnus and popular English professor at the University in the 1860s. Lyons Hall is well known for its archway, which offers a beautiful view of St. Mary’s Lake. The hall was converted to a women’s dormitory in 1974 and currently houses approximately 200 women.
Lyons’ signature event is the Mara Fox Fun Run, a race that raises scholarship money in memory of Mara Fox, an ND freshman killed by a drunk driver in 1993.
Learn more about residence life