Frequently referred to as “Morrissey Manor” or “The Manor” due to its architecture, this men’s residence hall was built in 1925 and named after the University’s seventh president, Rev. Andrew Morrissey, C.S.C. The X-shaped cross and shield on the building represent the crucifixion and dedication of St. Andrew, Fr. Morrissey’s patron saint. The shield also features an open book, descending dove, harp, and winged shoe, which symbolize Notre Dame, the Holy Spirit, Ireland, and sportsmanship, respectively. Morrissey Hall is home to some 230 men. Morrissey holds a wrestling tournament semiannually, the Manor Knockdown.
Learn more about residence life