Built in 1888 as a residence hall for 50 men, Sorin Hall is named after the University’s founder, Rev. Edward Sorin, C.S.C., and is known as “Sorin College” by its residents. A statue of Father Sorin can be found near the main entrance on Notre Dame Avenue, and students traditionally rub his feet for luck as they pass by. Sorin Hall was the first residence hall with private rooms, and its residents were originally selected by academic rank. In 1897, the building was expanded, and it is now home to around 150 men. The dorm’s fall talent show is its signature event.
Learn more about residence life