Built in 1909 as a men’s residence hall and named for Rev. Thomas Walsh, C.S.C., the University’s sixth president, Walsh Hall was the last building constructed on Main Quad, also known as God Quad. Walsh Hall was one of the first residence halls with single rooms, suites with private bathrooms and bay windows, and closets in every room. When women were originally admitted to the University in 1972, Walsh and Badin Halls were the first to be converted into women’s residence halls.
Walsh hosts a week of events each fall, highlighted with the Mr. ND Contest.
Learn more about residence life