When Alumni Hall and its neighbor Dillon Hall were constructed in 1931, they anchored the southern edge of Notre Dame’s campus. Alumni Hall was named to honor the University’s loyal graduates, and was intended to be a home for them when they returned to visit their beloved campus. The building’s circumference has an impressive—and somewhat eclectic—array of gargoyles and stone carvings worth searching for and enjoying: a Madonna and Child; Saint Thomas Aquinas; Saint Bonaventure; legendary football coach Knute Rockne; and Clashmore Mike, the canine mascot of Notre Dame’s football team of the 1930s.
Alumni Hall has a beautiful chapel and an electric elevator—the first installed in any campus residence hall. The hall’s capacity is 269 men.
Since 1980, the hall had been known for the Alumni Wake, a mix of Irish funeral rituals and festivities and was recently renamed The Funeral.