This women’s residence hall was originally constructed in 1897 as St. Joseph’s Industrial School. It became a men’s dorm in 1917 and was renamed in honor of Rev. Stephen Badin, the first Catholic priest ordained in the United States. Father Badin, as provider of the land where the original Log Chapel was built, is honored today at Notre Dame as an inspiration for benefactors. Former residents of Badin Hall include University President Emeritus Rev. Theodore Hesburgh, C.S.C., (resident during the 1940s) and University President Emeritus Rev. Edward Malloy, C.S.C. (resident in the 1960s).
In 1972, Notre Dame admitted women to its student population, and Badin Hall became one of the first women’s residences. This hall is the campus’s smallest women’s dorm, but it is the only one with a balcony—and has the highest percentage of single rooms. The hall hosts a Fall Art Show and the Spring Badin Breakdown.