Originally constructed as a men’s residence hall in 1939, Breen-Phillips Hall was named after its benefactors, alumni and brothers-in-law William P. Breen and Frank B. Phillips. During World War II, this hall served as a home for naval officers in training. At one point, the athletic department, including the office of head football coach Frank Leahy, was located in the basement of Breen-Phillips Hall.
Breen-Phillips became one of the first women’s residences after the University began admitting women in 1972. Today, the hall houses just over 200 women. The Breen-Phillips Meal Auction, the dorm’s signature event, raises donations for the American Diabetes Association from students bidding to eat with coaches, faculty, or other ND notables.