Built in 1906 and dedicated in 1907 as a seminary for Holy Cross brothers, what is now known as Carroll Hall was originally called the Dujarie Institute, named after the religious order’s founder. In 1966, the University purchased the property and renamed the building Carroll Hall after Charles Carroll, cousin of Archbishop John Carroll and the only Catholic signer of the U.S. Declaration of Independence. Carroll Hall initially housed graduate students, but in 1977 was switched to undergraduate residency.
Known for its distance from the rest of campus and picturesque views of St. Mary’s Lake, the Golden Dome, and the Basilica, Carroll Hall is home to approximately 100 men who live in some of the largest residence rooms on campus. The hall’s signature event is A Carroll Christmas.