St. Edward's Hall

Built in 1882 as a boarding school for grade school children, St. Edward's Hall is the oldest residence hall at Notre Dame. It is the only Notre Dame building listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Named for St. Edward, the patron saint of the University's founder, Rev. Edward Sorin, C.S.C., St. Edward'€™s Hall was built by the Holy Cross brothers. In 1924 Knute Rockne received his First Holy Communion in the chapel at St. Edward'€™s Hall. In 1929 St. Edward'€™s Hall was converted into a men's residence hall. The hall was renovated in 1976 and once again after a 1981 fire. The hall sponsors Founders Day and Founders Week events.

Learn more about residence life

Load Google Street View

Load Street View